National Employment Standards

Home » Industry Issues » Workplace Relations » National Employment Standards

The National Employment Standard

The National Employment Standard (NES) provides a safety net of enforceable minimum employment terms and conditions. The NES sets out 10 minimum workplace entitlements which apply to all employers and employees (only certain entitlements apply to casuals):

  • Maximum weekly hours of work
  • Requests for flexible working arrangements
  • Parental leave and related entitlements
  • Annual leave
  • Personal / carer’s leave and compassionate leave
  • Community service leave
  • Long service leave
  • Public holidays – a paid day off on a public holiday, except where reasonably requested to work
  • Notice of termination and redundancy pay
  • Provision of a Fair Work Information Statement.